Article 83 Of The Indian Constitution: Duration Of Houses Of Parliament

article 83 of indian constitution

Article 83 of the Indian Constitution speaks about the duration of the House of Parliament. This article finds room in Chapter II of Part V of the Constitution.

This article gives you a fruitful insight into the duration of the House of Parliament for the Union. This article is beneficial for the aspirants preparing for the UPSC Exam and is covered in the Indian Polity of UPSC Syllabus.

What Is Article 83 Of The Indian Constitution?

  1. The Council of States shall not be liable to dissolution, but, in line with the regulations set in this regard by Parliament by law, as nearly one-third of its members shall retire as soon as may be at the end of each second year.
  2. The House of the People shall exist for a period of five years from the date set for its first meeting and no longer, unless sooner dissolved, and upon the expiration of said term, the House shall be dissolved:

    With the caveat that, while a Proclamation of Emergency is in effect, the aforementioned period may be extended by Parliament through legal means for a maximum of one year at a time and never more than six months after the Proclamation has ended.

Can Rajya Sabha Be Dissolved?

Rajya Sabha is a long-lasting institution also known as a “continuing chamber.”

In contrast to Lok Sabha, which typically has a 5-year term before new elections are held, Rajya Sabha has no set term and continues to function.

As a result, it never dissolves.


  1. One-third of its members depart every two years.
  2. There are fresh elections held to fill the vacated seats. But at the start of the third year, nominations are accepted.
  3. The President is permitted by the Representation of the People Act of 1951 to establish rules governing the Rajya Sabha members’ retirement sequence.

For Further Readings:

42nd Amendment Of The Indian Constitution44th Amendment Of The Indian Constitution
Article 82 Of The Indian ConstitutionArticle 96 Of The Indian Constitution
Powers And Functions Of Lok Sabha and Rajya SabhaArticle 80 Of The Indian Constitution


Article 83 deals with the duration of the two Houses of Parliament. In line with the first clause of article 83, Rajya Sabha cannot be dissolved and is a permanent body, and in line with the second clause of this article, the Lok Sabha can enjoy the power until the expiry of five years starting from the time of its first meeting.


What Is The Tenure Of Rajya Sabha?

As per Article 83 (1) of the Indian Constitution, the Rajya Sabha is a Permanent House that cannot be dissolved. But every second year, one-third of its members must retire, and an equal number of new members are chosen to fill their places.

What Is The Duration Of The Lok Sabha?

In accordance with Article 83(2) of the Constitution, the Lok Sabha’s term shall normally not exceed five years from the date of its first meeting. The President may, though, call for an earlier dissolution of the House.

What Has Been Amended To The Tenure Of Lok Sabha?

The Lok Sabha is elected for a five-year term at first. 42nd amendment amended it and granted the tenure of 6 years to Lok Sabha which the 44th amendment revert back to 5 years.

Related Posts